Athletic Body Care vs. Defense Soap REVIEW

Information

For this review I’ll be using a rating scale of 0-10 and I’ll be going over several categories, which are: bacteria defense and warnings, packaging, feel, smell and miscellaneous. The final judgement will be determined by adding up the 0-10 scores of the five sections to come up with a total rating between 0-50. The two items I will be reviewing are the Athletic Body Care Power Body Wash and the Defense Soap Shower Gel. At the bottom of each section will be a graph with a rating on the subject for each product.

Bacteria Defense & Warnings

Athletic Body Care

The two main ingredients in Athletic Body Care Power Body Wash are Benzalkonium Chloride and Allantoin.

Benzalkonium Chloride has been declared by the FDA to kill 99.99% of germs. It’s usually the thing used to clean your skin at doctor’s offices and hospitals before a syringe is used. Safe to say, it’s a good germ killer that’s safe for your skin. However, it is toxic if ingested. Solutions of 10% or more are lethal.

Allantoin is used in over 10,000 products as a skin moisturizer. It often increases the water content of dead skin cells, which in turn increases the smoothness of the skin. It also actually promotes cell proliferation and wound healing. It’s also extremely safe for your skin, especially since it is used in: toothpaste, mouthwash, shampoos, lipsticks, sunscreen, and other various cosmetic products.

Athletic Body Care’s lab tests, which were performed by SCI Laboratories, Inc., showed that their product kills 99% of germs without skin irritation.

Defense Soap

The main ingredients in Defense Soap are: Saponified oils of Coconut and Olive, Jojoba Oil, Vegetable Gum/Glycerin Extract, Aloe Vera, TeaTree Oil and Eucalyptus Oil. So, I’ll break each one down.

Coconut, olive, and jojoba oils are often used to moisturize dry skin and to rebuild it. Vegetable gum is used to stabilize and foam. Being used to gel items, aloe vera also has natural pain relievers in it and is often used in burn medicine.

Now, teatree oil is where we get to the interesting part, as there are many claimed uses and many warnings that come along with teatree oil. Teatree oil has been proven to kill bacteria, but when used in low concentrations it can be ineffective. It is also toxic if ingested and the American Cancer Society has released a statement stating, “It has been reported to cause drowsiness, confusion, hallucinations, coma, unsteadiness, weakness, vomiting, diarrhea, stomach upset, blood cell abnormalities, and severe rashes.” On another scary note, teatree oil has sometimes caused hearing loss in animals when it’s entered the ear canal. Whether the same thing happens to humans is unknown.

Eucalyptus oils are a natural antiseptic and are often used to relieve flu or cold symptoms. It is also an anti-inflammatory and stimulates the immune system. Eucalyptus oils can be toxic to children if 4mL or more are ingested.

Defense Soap’s laboratory tests, which were performed by PetLabs Diagnostic Laboratories, Inc., state, “Defense soap with tea tree oil presents visible anti-dermatophitic as well as anti-bacterial properties as evidenced by zones of inhibition (areas of no growth).”

Winner: Athletic Body Care

They both have their ups and downs, but really, what antiseptic is safe to digest? They both have lab tests that produce the same results as well. The reason Athletic Body Care squeaks bye with the win is because it’s solution (Benzalkonium Chloride) has been used for well over 60 years in hospitals and doctor’s offices and the FDA backs it up as a germ killer. Defense Soap, on the other hand, cannot get support from the FDA. I also think the negative effects reported with Defense Soap’s ingredients outweigh the negative effects of Athletic Body Care’s ingredients.

Packaging

Being a graphic designer, I know the money that goes into packaging. In my opinion, better packaging means you invested more money into your project. So, here’s my breakdown of the packaging.

Athletic Body Care

Athletic Body Care’s Power Body Wash resides in a clear tube with a neat clear top where you can see the wash coming up out of the bottle into your hand. The logo, type face, and images are all arranged in an orderly, clean manner. Really, to sum it up, you would know it was body wash even if there wasn’t a label.

Defense Soap

Defense Soap’s Shower Gel comes in a cobalt blue tube with a black top that’s often used on body washes or shampoos. The logo, type face, and images are all clean and arranged in an orderly manner.

Winner: Athletic Body Care

Athletic Body Care is the clear winner here. Simply, it looks like a body wash. Defense Soap’s brown bottle is just unattractive and their logo, in my opinion, looks like a pool cleaner logo.

Feel

Feel is extremely important to me, as I like to have smooth skin. I used both Athletic Body Care and Defense Soap over a period of two weeks. I used ABC and Defense Soap each after two gi classes and one nogi class (6 classes in total).

Athletic Body Care

After taking a shower with Athletic Body Care, I must say my skin felt very soft. The micro-beads really exfoliated my skin and left it feeling extremely clean. I was also surprised at how moisturized my skin was after showering. I usually wash with Old Spice body wash and have to use a lotion after getting out of the shower. With Athletic Body Care, I didn’t have to.

Athletic Body Care’s lather was also surprisingly good. Like I said, I often use Old Spice and I usually have to go back for more to wash my whole body. Athletic Body Care’s “soapiness” lasted over my whole body. I felt very clean after showing.

Defense Soap

Defense Soap, to me, just didn’t have a good feel. After getting out of the shower my skin wasn’t soft, but instead felt kind of sticky. I must say though, my skin was moisturized after getting out of the shower, which is always good. Defense Soap’s lather, however, was at the same level as Old Spice. I had to make another trip to wash my whole body. The bad thing about Defense Soap is that I really didn’t feel that clean after showing. The stickiness kind of threw me off.

Winner: Athletic Body Care

With Athletic Body Care and Defense Soap my skin was moisturized, which is great, but Athletic Body Care’s product left my skin feeling soft and clean. It’s lather also lasted over my whole body, which just makes things easier.

Smell

Athletic Body Care

I must say, Athletic Body Care’s product doesn’t smell like something you want to wash yourself with. It smells like antiseptic, since it is antiseptic, and that’s not the smell you’re looking for when it comes to body wash. However, after getting out of the shower that smell doesn’t linger and you start smelling clean.

Defense Soap

Defense Soap smelled really good when lathering up. The eucalyptus is what I picked up most and it really seemed to open up my lungs and help me breathe. Like Athletic Body Care’s product, Defense Soap’s eucalyptus smell doesn’t stick around once you get out of the shower.

Winner: Defense Soap

The eucalyptus was really refreshing and helped me breathe, which made Defense Soap the clear winner in this category.

Miscellaneous

The miscellaneous section will have any more information that I believe is applicable to this review.

Shipping Speed

I put in the request for a sample from Athletic Body Care and Defense Soap on the same day within 5 minutes of each other and received both at the same time. Although they both came at the same time, I would say overall shipping time for both was average.

Winner: Tie

WINNER

DISCLAIMER: I was not paid by Athletic Body Care or Defense Soap to do this review. These opinions are my own. I did receive samples from Athletic Body Care and Defense Soap to do this review. If you post this anywhere else, please post with a link back to my original review on https://trainingbjj.wordpress.com. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

