Ringworm: Thou Art a Heartless Wench

Fun, fun! Actually, no. This sucks. So, I woke up Friday morning (went to class Thursday night), to find ringworm on my neck. Which is bad for two reasons: 1) I’m a clean freak and stuff like this on my skin drives me crazy as I just want to get rid of it and 2) I can’t go to class, which sucks because I really miss BJJ! I knew this day would come, but it still sucks.

I’ve been applying liquid wart remover to it every day, which is majorly drying it out. In fact, I might need to stop. Salicylic acid is some strong stuff. Now my neck looks even more freaky, but I’m pretty sure I’m drying up the ringworm. At the moment, the spot of ringworm is really dark and dry and the skin around my neck is red and dry because of the salicylic acid. Hopefully, the fact that the ring is dark and dry means that it’s about gone. I’d post a picture, but I don’t want to gross anyone out.

At the moment, I’m shooting towards going to class on Friday. If my neck looks way better Thursday morning, I might go Thursday and Friday to catch up. Oh well, I guess I’ll do some drills and maybe go for a run since it’s such a gorgeous day.

3 thoughts on “Ringworm: Thou Art a Heartless Wench

  1. Ew, that sucks.

    But you might actually need to apply cream for athlete’s foot, which is the same thing as ringworm. Ringworm is caused by a fungus; warts, by a virus. The wart remover might work, but it’s not actually designed to target ringworm.

    • I’m so crazy I’ve been doing both. But the wart remover is just salicylic acid, which is a known ringworm killer.

      “Tinea nigra (ringworm, athlete’s foot, jock itch) generally responds well to topical antifungal agents and peeling agents such as salicylic acid or topical retinoids.” – WebMD

      “Salicylic acid also has anti-fungal properties and can be used to eliminate tinea, a fungus involved in various types of skin infections. Salicylic acid can eliminate tinea versicolor, an infection of the top layer of the skin that causes scaly, discolored patches; tinea pedis (athlete’s foot); tinea cruris (jock itch); tinea corporis (ringworm of the body) and tinea capitis (ringworm of the scalp).” – Livestrong.com

      It actually seems to be working better than the athlete’s foot cream, but it will probably leave a really dry spot on my neck, which lotion will hopefully help with once the ringworm is definitely gone. It was slowly drying with the athlete’s foot cream, but it was almost all the way dry with the salicylic acid.

Leave a Reply

