Are You Still Rolling?

This will be a fairly short post. However, now that I’ve said that it probably won’t be. Anyway, I thought I’d share a rule that I enforce on myself that’s helped me. I think it’s important, because it keeps you humble, but also improves your technique overall.

In the past week or so I’ve had four or five people ask me during open mat, “Are you still rolling?” My answer, “Yes.” What is my rule? Never say no to a rollPlease don’t apply this rule at the dinner table. (Ha ha ha, just cracked myself up there.) Continuing on. I truly believe this rule has improved my game. It’s a good rule, and here’s why:

  1. You should roll as much as possible. Rolling is good! It’s the time to put your technique to the test. I freakin’ love rolling! So don’t pass up on it, even if your tired. Actually, especially if you’re tired!
  2. If you’re tired, roll! Too many people rely on strength to complete techniques. When you’re tired and force yourself to roll, you can no longer rely on that strength. So, what do you have to use? That’s right, technique. When you have to rely on technique, then that really sharpens it up! If you continue to just use strength, what happens when you face someone stronger than you? Short story, you’ll get mauled.
  3. It’s humbling, which isn’t a bad thing at all. Being humble literally means to not be arrogant and proud. Having a good attitude on the mats is always needed!

So, implement this into your game. Take this into the academy the next time you train. Never say no to a roll.

Leave a Reply

